Provost/Senate Chairs Committee Content https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/ Provost/Senate Chairs Committee Content for UC Davis Leadership en Mary Croughan https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/about/provost/mary-croughan <h2 class="heading--underline">Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Mary Croughan</h2> <p>University of California, Davis, Chancellor Gary S. May has selected Mary S. Croughan as the next provost and executive vice chancellor. Croughan will begin on July 1.</p> November 13, 2017 - 5:11pm Tristan Peery https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/about/provost/mary-croughan Cynthia Carter Ching https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/cynthia-carter-ching <p>Ching has served as the associate dean for academic programs in the School of Education since 2015. She was the director of undergraduate programs from 2008 to 2013, and has taught undergraduate classes as well as graduate-level courses.</p> <p>She joined the School of Education in 2007 and was an affiliated faculty member with the Foods for Health Institute from 2012 to 2016.</p> August 25, 2020 - 9:58am tmcclark https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/cynthia-carter-ching Naoki Saito https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/naoki-saito <p>Naoki Saito’s research focus has been on applied and computational <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harmonic_analysis">harmonic analysis</a>, which is a discipline to study: 1) efficient and meaningful representations of data objects (e.g., signals and images) and operators (e.g., singular integral operators); 2) fast computational algorithms to operate on them; and 3) their wide-range applications including those in computer science, electrical engineering, geophysics, neuroscience, and statistics.</p> January 18, 2018 - 2:12pm Tristan Peery https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/naoki-saito Mark Rashid https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/mark-rashid <div> <p>Professor Rashid’s research activities fall into the broad disciplines of solid mechanics and computational methods.  Current focus areas include:</p> January 18, 2018 - 2:11pm Tristan Peery https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/mark-rashid Dan Potter https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/dan-potter <div> <h4>systematic botany</h4> <div>Plant phylogeny, evolution, and taxonomy, especially diversity and relationships of crop plants and their wild relatives.</div> </div> <div> <h4>ethnobotany</h4> <div>Relationships and interactions between plants and people across cultures, time, and space.</div> </div> January 18, 2018 - 2:10pm Tristan Peery https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/dan-potter Kristin Lagattuta https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/kristin-lagattuta <p><span>In addition to her academic appointment in the Department of Psychology, Kristin Hansen Lagattuta is a core faculty member at the Center for Mind and Brain at the University of California, Davis. She studies age-related changes and individual differences in emotion understanding, theory of mind, moral cognition, and past-to-future reasoning. She is the editor of the 2014 book, <em>Children and emotion: New insights into developmental affective science</em>. January 18, 2018 - 2:08pm Tristan Peery https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/kristin-lagattuta Dietmar Kueltz https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/dietmar-kueltz <p>Proteomics and physiological genomics of environmental stress adaptation in fishes; Evolution of environmental stress tolerance and phenotypic plasticity; Osmosensory stress signaling in animal cells.</p> January 18, 2018 - 2:01pm Tristan Peery https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/dietmar-kueltz Bruce Haynes https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/bruce-haynes <div> <p>Bruce D. Haynes is professor of sociology at the University of California, Davis and a Senior Fellow in the Urban Ethnography Project at Yale University. His publications include <em>Down the Up Staircase: Three Generations of a Harlem Family</em> (co-author Syma Solovitch, Columbia University Press 2017), <em>The Ghetto: Contemporary Issues and Controversies</em> (co-author R. Hutchison, Westview Press, 2011), and <em>Red Lines, Black Spaces: The Politics of Race and Space in a Black Middle-Class Suburb</em> (Yale University Press 2001 reissued in paper in 2006).</p> January 18, 2018 - 2:00pm Tristan Peery https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/bruce-haynes Mary Christopher https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/mary-christopher <p>Dr. Christopher received her DVM from Iowa State University in 1980. She practiced small animal medicine for a period of time before returning to academia to pursue a residency and PhD at the University of Minnesota. Following completion of her residency and PhD, she spent 5 years on faculty at the University of Florida. She joined the faculty at UC Davis in 1994 and is currently a professor in the Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology. January 18, 2018 - 1:58pm Tristan Peery https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/mary-christopher Robert Powell https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/robert-powell <div> <h3>Educational Background</h3> <div> <div> <div> <p>B.E.S., 1972, The Johns Hopkins University</p> <p>M.E.S., 1973, The Johns Hopkins University</p> <p>Ph.D., 1978, The Johns Hopkins University</p> <h3>Biography</h3> <p>Robert Powell is a Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and a Professor of Food Science and Technology at the University of California Davis where he has been a faculty member since 1984. From 2002 until 2011 he was the Chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science.</p> November 28, 2017 - 2:18pm Tristan Peery https://leadership.ucdavis.edu/people/robert-powell