Student Success and Equitable Outcomes Task Force

In January 2023, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Mary Croughan launched the Student Success and Equitable Outcomes Task Force. Composed of faculty, staff, undergraduate and graduate students, the Task Force will focus on undergraduate student success and, when applicable, propose strategies and recommendations that may benefit graduate students as well.

An inclusive and integrated body with broad representation, the Task Force is working across colleges, schools, departments and administrative units to prioritize strategies and develop concrete plans for programs and initiatives that will meet the specific needs of UC Davis students.

As a starting point, the Task Force reviewed “Strategies for Building Inclusive Excellence at UC Davis” and the “Year Two Report,” both authored by Kristin Lagattuta, chair of the Department of Psychology and a professor at the Center for Mind and Brain at UC Davis. Additionally, the Task Force will examine successful programs from other universities, including the Student Experience Project and the Boyer 2030 Commission Report.

Task Force members meet twice monthly and serve on subcommittees that also include content experts and campus representatives from related departments or units. Work will take place in several phases, with recommendations for specific action plans to be presented by the Task Force to the Provost in early 2024.

Task Force Members

  • Co-Chairs
  • Pablo Reguerin, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs
    Ari Kelman, Faculty Advisor to the Chancellor and Provost
  • Members
  • Estella Atekwana, Dean, College of Letters and Science
    Michael Bradford, Vice Provost and Dean, Undergraduate Education
    Kayton Carter, Executive Director for Academic Advising and Enrichment, Undergraduate Education
    Gerardo Con Diaz, Associate Professor of Science and Technology Studies, College of Letters and Science; Academic Senate Representative
    Richard Corsi, Dean, College of Engineering
    Marcela Cuellar, Associate Professor, School of Education; Academic Senate Representative
    Jean-Pierre Delplanque, Vice Provost and Dean, Graduate Studies
    Helene Dillard, Dean, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
    Susan Ebeler, Chair, Council of Associate Deans for Undergraduate Education
    William Garrity, Interim University Librarian
    Radhika Gawde, President, Associated Students, University of California, Davis
    Milmon Harrison, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Programs, Undergraduate Education
    Brian Hodge, University Registrar, Enrollment Management
    Erika Jackson, Assistant Director, Budget and Institutional Analysis (Task Force staff)
    Kristin Lagattuta, Chair and Professor of Psychology, College of Letters and Science
    Mayra Llamas, Executive Director of the Community Resource Center, Student Affairs
    Malisa Lee, Vice Provost, Enrollment Management
    Sarah Mangum, Associate Vice Chancellor, Budget and Institutional Analysis
    John Marx, Vice Provost, Aggie Square
    Lina Mendez, Director of Hispanic Serving Institution Initiatives, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
    Viji Murali, Chief Information Officer and Vice Provost, Information and Educational Technology
    Robert Penman, Executive Director of Undergraduate Admissions, Enrollment Management
    Marcela Radtke, President, Graduate Student Association
    Joanna Regulska, Vice Provost and Dean, Global Affairs
    Jason Stewart, Interim Assistant Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff to the Provost
    Matthew Stratton, Associate Professor of English, College of Letters and Science; Academic Senate Representative
    Dawn Takaoglu, Director, International and Academic English, Global Affairs; Academic Federation Representative
    Michelle Villegas-Frazier, Director, Native American and Retention Initiatives, Student Affairs
    Mark Winey, Dean, College of Biological Sciences

Read the Student Success and Equitable Outcomes Task Force Charge Letter.

More student success initiatives: